The Sunshine Blogger Award

Recently I was awarded the Sunshine Award from fellow writer and blogger JeriWB.  At this time I want to thank her for thinking of me for this award. 

The Sunshine Award is an award given by bloggers to other bloggers. The recipients of the Sunshine Award are “Bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.” The way the award works is this: Thank the person who gave you the award and link back to them. Answer questions about yourself. Select 10 of your favorite bloggers, link their blogs to your post and let them know they have been awarded the Sunshine Award!

  1. What is your passion?

The short answer here, Beer.  The food and beverages of a culture helped to define that culture.  During the industrial age, our food and drink was as industrial as the lives we lived.  Now as we move past that age into something more we find our food and drink is again changing as well.  In many instances we are reembracing craftsmanship of times past, preferring solid workmanship over the homogenized sameness found on every corner. 

I view preservation in the same class as I do beer.  Protecting our harvest is a worthwhile goal of our society.  Protecting the farmers and farms that make our lives possible is a big step in ensuring our civilization will continue into the future. 
  
    2. Favorite time of the year?
I have always loved the fall.  Living in Michigan we tend to actually have 4 seasons.  The winter is too cold and dreary.  Spring is wet and mushy.  Summer tends to be hot and humid.  But the fall has a certain smell in the air.  There is a crispness that carries in the warm sunny days as well as the days that a touch brisk.  The colors of the trees (natures fireworks) lasts for only a short time but while it is there you can see a broad range of the colors nature is able to share with us. 

3.  Favorite book?
I don’t necessarily have a favorite book.  Of course, I view beer the same way.  There are just too many that I enjoy that I can’t see myself picking a favorite.  I have styles and genres I prefer over others but really comes down to my mood.  Mind you, I have a few authors I will drop what ever I am reading to read a new book when it becomes available.  I just did this recently when I picked up Jim Butcher’s latest Harry Dresden book (I’m roughly halfway through it now).

4.  Favorite movie?
Science fiction and fantasy is a driving force in my entertainment of choice.  This is another one where there are just too many that I enjoy that I don’t really have a favorite. 

5.  Favorite animal?
The free spirit of eagles and the stead fast determination of rhinos, these are the animals I feel closest too.

6.  Favorite time of the day?
I am a night person.  I have never really been one to get up at the crack of dawn and go about my day.  I prefer a more realistic hour of 9 or 10.  Brunch is a good thing.  For the most part I do my best work after 9pm.

7. Favorite Flower?
Hops

8.  Favorite nonalcoholic beverage?
What are those?  I used to drink Mtn. Dew like it was water.  About 9 months ago we gave up soda, haven’t touched it since.  Usually tea in various flavorings is great but water or juice works too.  The best part is being able to use whatever you have on hand when designing a beer.  The green tea wheat beer I had on tap not too long ago was fantastic.  Another great thing about the fall is the apple harvest.  I love both hard cider and unfermented cider (not juice thats something overly processed taking the essence of the apple out of it). 

9.  Favorite physical activity?
Lately we have really gotten into playing games and working out with our Kinect.  Becoming the controller instead of simply using a controller is a whole new experience for playing video games.  We also like taking walks through the large number of wooded areas that we live near.

10.  Favorite vacation?
What’s a vacation? 
The last vacation we took was a few years ago when we spent a week in California.  It was great being able to share with my wife and kids the places I used to go when I was in the Marines.  Disney and the ocean were great too. 

Now some new nominees and blogs to check out…

Erika Vitkin: Now Entering Flavor Country
Chris Kassel: Intoxicology Report
Zak Avery: Are you Tasting the Pith?
Al Hilgendorf: Everyday Poems
Maureen Ogle: Maureen Ogle
Seth and Laura Porter: Michigan Beer Blog
Sud Savant: Sud Savant
Madison Smith: Wino Beero Foodo
Lew Bryson: The Session Beer Project

Time for a pint…

12 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Jon, I had no idea how much we had in common. I was born in Michigan, moved to the deep south when I was a child but still visit when I can. One of my fondest childhood memories is heading "up north" during the apple harvest for fresh cider from the farm. People who haven't tried it have no idea, the difference between real cider and store apple juice is like the difference between a light bulb and a sunny day. I'm also an on again off again Mountain Dew addict. I have to watch my intake (caffeine!!) but it's my go-to morning beverage. Nice post.

  2. That's what I like about these awards! They give us a chance to see another side to the blogger. Congrats on kicking the Mountain Dew habit. I didn't even think of the Kinect when I typed up the responses for my awards, but now that I think of it, I have been enjoying playing around with it this past year.

  3. This was so fun. I loved learning about you Jon. I had to laugh when you said "what's that" when asked about your favorite non alcoholic beverage. Fall is also my favorite time of year. 🙂

  4. I love reading these posts. I laughed when you said hops are your favorite flower. The green tea wheat beer you mention sounds delicious and right up my alley, green tea is one of my favorite beverages. Congrats!

  5. There is a Horrocks (produce store) near me that has been getting quite a few teas. I have been thinking of various combinations I can do with them. They have a blood orange tea that would go well in a beer or even a mead.

Leave a Reply

