Lisa Morrison

It isn’t everyday you can spend a few minutes with a Goddess.  Lisa Morrison (aka the Beer Goddess) has been home brewing with her husband since 1991.  This in and of itself is pretty amazing but we can’t stop there.  Then we throw in a writing pedigree that not only covers magazines like All About Beer and Beer Advocate but also her own book Craft Beers of the Pacific Northwest, and now we are getting started.  And finally throw in her radio show Beer O’clock and you have the makings of a Beer Goddess. 

And now on to the questions…

5 Questions of note and 1 lame one

1. What was the beer moment, when you knew you wanted to become involved with the craft beer renaissance?I’ve been writing about craft beer (back then we called them “micros”) for about 15 years, so at the time, it wasn’t really a “renaissance.” It was more like a few crazy people who were making beer that tasted way better than anything else I’d ever tasted.

That being said, I knew I wanted to be a part of the craft beer community when I started realizing that this was a different business model; that instead of considering everybody else as competition, craft brewers realize that a rising tide raises all ships and if we support each other, we all do better. It’s a way of thinking that really rings true with my beliefs, and I love being a part of it and watching it be successful. We are setting a new example for other businesses worldwide. It’s such an honor to be a part of it.

 

2. If you could have any beer in your hand right now, what would it be?Well, I am writing this in the morning, so any type of breakfast beer — espresso stout or an oatmeal stout would do the trick. Or maybe a nice kolsch with a splash of grapefruit or orange juice to make a “beermosa.”

3. Can you describe your beer life in a song lyric/title? If so what would you choose?

It’s a corny song, but I’d have to go with that 70s tune, “Still the One” from Orleans (I had to look up who sang it!) I think it describes my love affair with craft beer quite well!

We’ve been together since way back when
Sometimes I never want to see you again
But I want you to know, after all these years
You’re still the one I want whisperin’ in my ear

You’re still the one — I want to talk to in bedStill the one — that turns my head
We’re still having fun, and you’re still the one

Interestingly, I’d have to say that song also describes my relationship with my hubby of 21 years. Hmm. 😉

4. Do you have a steady beer, or do you like to “play the field?”
 
I am definitely a “playah.”

5. Crowded smoky bar or back porch watching the clouds float across the sky?
 
Hate smoke, so no smoky bar for me. But it would be a tossup between a busy, vibrant pub and my deck (or any porch/deck) on a lovely afternoon.

And the lame one…

Who put the bomp in the bomp-sha bomp-sha bomp?

I got something at the deli the other day that actually said that on the label, like someone entered it into the label-maker so it spit it out with each label. Hilarious! But now that you’ve asked me that within days of that happening, I am wondering if there’s some secret message from the Mayans we need to uncover or something. You’re freaking me out! 😉
 
Time for a pint…

 
5 thoughts on “Lisa Morrison

  1. I really like this series of posts you've been doing. A breakfast beer? Sounds like we're going back to ye olde England when that was the only thing that people drank cos the water was so impure. Espresso stout would be a hearty start that's for sure:))

Leave a Reply

