Build a Lasagne

Lasagna is classically a special occasion food. There are a good number of steps to building one. So many in fact that it is not something you would find on the everyday dinner table.

You would think making a lasagna would be an easy endeavor (it is). The concept is simple: layers of noodles then filling then noodles then filling till you find you have reached the point where you just can’t go on anymore. I learned the importance of lasagna to the Tuscan family table and how to make the noodles from Chef Dan Chudick.

Granted my own lasagna is a bit embellished from the one he once showed me, but the noodles I use follow the same recipe I learned form him and is the recipe I use for any type of Italian noodle I make. It wasn’t all that long ago that I went through the process of making these noodles. I even went to the trouble of making a video for the process.

Anyway, like I said the actual work of putting the whole thing together really isn’t a big deal.

Some thoughts on fillings:
Use the sauce that makes you happy. You can make your own or jarred if you are so inclined. There are some great organic sauces on the market (though tomatoes from your garden are the best)

You can use fresh mozzarella or mascarpone cheese as a cheese layer inside the lasagna. Or go a step further and make a b├ęchamel cheese sauce for the cheese layer. White sauce is a common ingredient in a Tuscan lasagna.

Mortadella is another great ingredient to use. Or go extremely decadent and use pancetta.

Time for a pint…

8 thoughts on “Build a Lasagne

  1. My sister-in-law currently holds the family trophy for best lasagne. It’s so good that I no longer feel the need to make it. I get her to do it. :) Lasagne is such an amazing dish and can be made whatever way suits you. It so good in the fall and winter…mmmmm

Leave a Reply

