Felaveri (Hot Chili Bread)

When I was in culinary school one of the basic classes was referred to our carb crash. This was the basic baking and pastries class. Half of the class was devoted to breads. The class started around 6 or so and would finish around noon or 1. Lunch was always something bread related. Felaveri was a flatbread we made in that class. It is similar to naan, but it is not made in a tandoori oven. Instead it is made on hot stones. If you have a pizza stone it works great for this purpose.

The bread is very simple to make but it does take a bit of time. It is a great project bread to make with your kids or for a food party (does that sound Martha Stewartesque?)
IMG_9178
IMG_9180

IMG_9185

Felaveri (hot chili bread)
Ingredients
2 teaspoon yeast
2 1/2 cups warm water
5-6 cups flour
2 teaspoon salt

Topping
1/4 to 1/3 cup olive oil
1 Tablespoon Sesame Seeds
2 to 4 teaspoon Dried chili pepper flakes

IMG_9187
Method:
Preheat oven to 450 with pizza stone inside oven. Dissolve yeast in warm water (about 10 minutes). Add flour and salt to water and bring together. Pour out onto lightly floured surface. Let rest about 10 minutes. Knead dough till smooth and elastic (7 to 10 minutes) adding flour as needed. Dough will feel slightly stiff and not sticky. Place in lightly oiled bowl and turn to coat. Cover bowl with seal wrap or a wet towel. Allow to rise till double (about an hour).

IMG_1372
Punch down dough and separate into 12 to 16 equal pieces. If you go by weight 4 ounce pieces will give you around 12 equal sized pieces. Cover the pieces you are not working with. Working with 2 pieces at a time roll out to desired size first working with one till it won’t roll out any more. Then switch to the other piece till it won’t roll. When they reach the desired size place on floured peel and brush the top with olive oil. Then sprinkle the sesame seeds and pepper flakes onto the oiled dough. Cook on pizza stone for 3 to 5 minutes or the tops begin to brown.

IMG_1370
This is the slow part of the process. You can usually only put 1 or 2 in the oven at a time.

time for a pint…

IMG_9190

14 thoughts on “Felaveri (Hot Chili Bread)

  1. First, I have to say that I thought you stopped blogging on this blog. Dummy me never changed your link. Sorry.

    This sounds AWESOME! My husband makes breads, and we’ve done pizza crust together. I’m going to save this and make sure we make several. This would be good with so many things I love, including taziki. 🙂 Thanks, Jon.

    • Oddly, the momentum built on the blogger site is still building traffic there even though I haven’t been there in forever. Yep, I am a weirdo that likes seeing what is going on in my old neighborhood.

      I do love this bread, though I hadn’t made it in years. The pepper flakes give it a great heat.

  2. Looks yummy. My bread never rises. Even my biscuits are hocky-pucks. I gave up years ago. But what I am good at is making fire-roasted red pepper olive oil or coconut oil. I drizzle it over sourdough, or organic/non-gmo corn thins, salads, etc. I’m thinking it might go good with your homade breads.

  3. I would definitely like this one as I eat naan bread quite often. I can also see that various flavored oils would go great on it as well.

  4. Jon, my husband and I made this bread. YOWZA! It is hot. We enjoyed the bread, but decided we can’t handle the hotness. We’ll have to cut down on that in the future. Thanks again.

    • For some of the members of my family I make a few of these with only sesame seeds. The bread is still good but for me, it loses a little something. But then this is the benefit of making it yourself. You can make it how you like it.

      Recipes are guidelines really. They are meant to be twisted and changed. We find what we enjoy through their guidance.

Leave a Reply

