Corn Chowder

For Mother’s day I made one of my wife’s favorite soups and invited my parents over for dinner. Was a good night of soup and fresh french bread for dinner.

You may notice I went a slightly different route with this video. It was Mother’s Day so my camera person got the day off. This meant I was doing all the work myself. This form is one I have wanted to play with for some time but it was a learning experience.

I would also like to take a moment to request we thank Ray Harryhausen for all his work in film. He passed away last week. His stop motion work helped create the special effects we know today. Though some of the attempts I made in this film were nothing anywhere near what he had done, I like to think his work did inspire me. (of course mine are more before and after images but I am not the genius he was).

Corn Chowder
1lb corn (I used frozen but cut off the cob is a great choice too)
4 medium potatoes
2 carrots
2 onion
2 cloves garlic
2 stalks celery
2 bay leaves
1 Tablespoon italian herbs
1qt milk
1qt stock
10 oz roux (half oil or butter and half flour)

Method:
Roast corn for 1/2 hour mixing the corn a couple times during roasting. Boil potatoes for roughly 1/2 hour or till cooked through but still stiff. Small dice veggies. Saute Veggies in oil till translucent then add corn, heat through. Add flour to begin roux. The flour will soak up the liquid so becareful it doesn’t burn. Allow the roux to cook for about 5 minutes or so mixing well.

At this point you can deglaze with a white wine or do like I did and use a nice cider. Add in the stock and mix well. Stir well while bringing up to a boil. This will be really thick. Once it reaches boiling add in the potatoes and milk. You can control the thickness of the final soup by how much milk you add. Allow the soup to simmer for another 20 minutes or so. The milk flavor will combine and bring out the other flavors. Salt and pepper to taste. Garnish with bacon or chives.

Time for a pint…

4 thoughts on “Corn Chowder

Leave a Reply

