Grissini

Grissini (1)I am a little off on my schedule this week. Easter came through and wrecked the kitchen (and all I did was cook, we had dinner at my parents house). After getting cleaned I found some time to make some Grissini. These are the crisp, cracker like breadsticks you might find in some Italian restaurants.

Historically, bread like pasta is a very inexpensive item. The cost comes from the time commitment more than it does from the ingredients. The grissini I have for to offer you today are a good example of this. They are made with only three ingredients; flour, water, and yeast. But with these three ingredients you can make something that is tasty and a bit outside your normal everyday.

Before baking

Before baking

Recipe:
1/2 cup water
1 tablespoon yeast
1.5 -2 cups all purpose flour

Method:
Combine the yeast and water and allow to bloom (roughly 10 minutes in warm water). Add 1.5 cups flour to yeast/water mix. Bring together then turn out onto lightly floured surface. Knead for about 10 minutes or the dough becomes smooth. This will be a stiffer dough. If it is sticky while kneading add a little flour at a time.

Allow to rest for 15 minutes

Weigh out the dough in .75 to 1 ounce pieces. Using both hands roll out to long thin ropes (the length of your pan is a good idea). Bake at 400 degrees for about 15 -20 minutes or they have begun to brown.

Finished Grissini

Finished Grissini

Time for a pint…

11 thoughts on “Grissini

  1. I don’t know if I dare cook a pasta… I think that is my number 1 scariest thing to try. At least if I mess up a dessert I know it will still taste good, but this doesn’t seem as hard as I thought… Maybe I’ll try it 🙂

  2. I love cooking at home because I feel accomplished and if I share my food with others, I get compliments. Who doesn’t like compliments?! Generally I try to stick with fancy things to distinguish my skill better but I absolutely adore how simple this recipe is. Sometimes there is nothing better than being able to take items you already have in your kitchen and whipping them together.

    • After cooking higher end food night after night diner after diner, you learn that there is wonder and greatness in the simplest of foods. Something done well standing on its own merits is far better than the most complicated of dishes.

Leave a Reply

