Session 73: Beer Audit

Adam at Pints and Pubs is the host of the March Session.  For This month’s Session it is time to take stock of what you have stored, what you might be aging.

So, I’m interested to know if you take stock of the beers you have, what’s in your cellar, and what does it tell you about your drinking habits. This could include a mention of the oldest, strongest, wildest beers you have stored away, the ratio of dark to light, strong to sessionable, or musings on your beer buying habits and the results of your cellaring.

When you got through my aging shelf you won’t find any production brewery beers.  On the rare occasions that I buy beer, it is something that is bought to be drunk within a day or two of purchase.  Instead, what you find are beers, meads, and ciders that are brewed with the intentions of long term aging.  Many times those that are stocked away are not even ready to be opened until a full year has passed.

What I found today was two different meads, cider from the fall before this last one and a few bottles of beer.  One of the sets of bottles is the sour that were packaged in champagne bottles.  There are only 4 of these left.  There is also half a case of maibock.

The intention is always to let the aging bottles sit.  But inevitably I will raid the stash from time to time.  I like to sample them at different ages and make note of the changes that transpire.  Sometimes I miss out when a batch has reached a really great age.  I see this quite often with ciders.  There is a certain point when the character of the batch turns a corner.  Before this moment the cider was decent.  But after this point it becomes sublime.

There is a lesson in this.  Letting your work reach maturity teaches us patience.  With patience we can reap rewards that far exceed our expectations.

Time for a pint…

9 thoughts on “Session 73: Beer Audit

  1. Ah, this sound so like good wine. Some require time and patience to allow them to reach their peak. So now I must take a little to to try some good craft beers, meads and ciders. 🙂

  2. Not having aged batches of beer myself, this fascinates me – the "certain point when the character of the batch turns a corner… after this point it becomes sublime". That they are the fruits of your labor must be very satisfying. Thanks for contributing

  3. I'm interested in the ways you learn how to build character in such different product. Mead beer and Cider are going through a similar fermentation and aging process, but the ingredients are so fundamentally different you must be learning a pretty broad catalog of techniques.

  4. I'm just starting to appreciate how aging can impact the flavor of wine, so applying that concept to ciders, meads, and beers definitely appeals to me. My TBD (to be drank) list is increasing nearly as fast as my TBR (to be read) list! You and Susan are to blame… 😉

  5. I find with beers and such it can be much easier for me to play it by ear than when it comes to books. At a pub I can find an old favorite or something new and not even think about it. When it comes to books I tend to agonize over what I want to read next. I think it is tied to the time commitment for each activity. If its a book I don't like I may have wasted days to weeks of my time. If its a beer I don't like I may have wasted 15 minutes to an hour.

Leave a Reply

