Ryan Engemenn

What kind of name is Right Brain for a brewery?  Seems crazy, but then when you are talking Michigan beer, crazy is a good thing.  I think this story from Russ one of the owners of Right Brain sums it up quite well.

I got the name during my senior year in high school. Miss Carter, the creative writing class teacher, strolled in to announce to everyone that we would be taking a test. Mind you, Miss Carter did not really like Russ that well, for whatever reason.

Anyway, she goes on about this test we will be taking to determine who is Right Brained. “Don’t worry, no one can take it wrong. There are no right or wrong answers.” So, she also drones on about how only three or four people will be Right Brained.

Sooooo…… I end up being the only person in class who is Right Brained and she tells me that I took it wrong. She inspired me. But just to bug the heck out of her I would walk in each day and greet her with, “I’m Right Brain, ya know.”

Cheers, Miss Carter!

Ryan Engemenn is the Resident Beer Geek for Right Brain (gotta love the fancy titles that come in the craft beer world).  He is also the current victem for this week’s QoN.

1.                  What was the beer moment, when you knew you wanted to become involved with the craft beer renaissance?
I can’t think of any particular moment when I decided on getting into craft beer. I was working a boring, normal job and spending all of my timI can’t e home-brewing. One day my girlfriend said “why don’t you brew professionally?” I didn’t have a good answer for that. Why DIDN’T I start brewing? I first applied to another Northern Michigan brewery’s bottling line and was really mad when I didn’t get the job. A few weeks later the job opened up at Right Brain and the rest is history.
2.         If you could have any drink in your hand right now, what would it be?
I’d have Right Brain’s Steve the Imperial Brown. Oh wait, I do have it in my hand right now!
3.         Can you describe your beer life in a song lyric/title?  If so what would you choose?
Alcohol by Barenaked Ladies.
4.         Do you have a steady beer, or do you like to “play the field?”
Oh! I definitely play the field! I guess I’m kind of a beer-whore in that way. I love discovering a new, great beer!
5.         Crowded smoky bar or back porch watching the clouds float across the sky?
Back Porch for sure. Smoke ruins your sense of smell–vital for enjoying a good beer! Plus what’s nicer than watching the clouds roll by with a good beer in your hand?
And the lame one…
Who put the bomp in the bomp sha-bomp sha-bomp?
I think that was Larry Bell, who we are all indebted to for it. (That’s what we owe him for, right?)

 
Time for a pint…

3 thoughts on “Ryan Engemenn

  1. I loved his story. I was a right brained person. I was always out of step from my class mates. So the name alone is reason enough to like this beer… LOL. The was a fun interview to read. 🙂

  2. How love how much of a lasting impression the creative writing teacher had on him as a student. Looking back, it was always my writing and English teachers that had the greatest impact on me and I one day would love to pay that forward.

Leave a Reply

