More High 5

Last week we started a QoN series with High 5 Brewing Co-op.  This week we spend some time with some more from High 5.  Get ready for this one, we are hitting three different interviewees (so fewer questions to hopefully avoid some confusion). 
Before we move on to the questions, check out this article from when Dallas McCulloch won 5×5 night setting High 5 into motion with their first bit of funding.  Now let’s get on with some questions…

1.                  What was the beer moment, when you knew you wanted to become involved with the craft beer renaissance?

Nicholas La Velle

I moved in with 2 of my best friends when I was 23 who just happened to be homebrewers like me. In the next 4 years we basically all decided that we will be working somewhere in the brewing industry at some point in time soon.

 

Greggory Samsa Hampshire

For a long time, I was kind of a garbage can for beer: I’d drink it all and enjoy it, but I hadn’t really put much thought into it. As Grand Rapids developed as a “Beer City”, I started noticing the sense of community and pride about it, and this was in chorus with my taste becoming more discerning and learning what I genuinely liked and what I would just drink to get drunk. As soon as I learned I had an opportunity to help the community, help a new brewery, and drink with friends, I jumped at the chance.

Jorel Van Os

The real defining moment is when I attended 5×5 night and Dallas won the full $5000 prize for the cooperatively owned brewery concept that became High Five. It’s been a lot of hard work, and there is a lot of work ahead of us, but the incredible enthusiasm and support made me convinced that our brewery can and will become a reality, and I want to help in every way I can to make that happen.

 

2.         If you could have any beer in your hand right now, what would it be?

Nicholas La Velle

Founders Canadian Breakfast Stout or North Coast Old Rasputin

 

Greggory Samsa Hampshire

Founders Spite Pepper Pale Ale or Hideout Nitro Hazelnut Stout; if the latter was ever distributed, I don’t know if I’d buy many other beers.

Jorel Van Os

Anything dark, malty and made by Right Brain, so maybe their CEO Stout? I was up by Traverse City for a few days this summer and just barely missed the grand opening of their new brewery so I’ve been craving their beer ever since.
3.         Can you describe your beer life in a song lyric/title?  If so what would you choose?

Nicholas LaVelle

“Now i think i’m going down to the well tonight
And i’m going to drink till i get my fill
And i hope when i get old i don’t sit around thinking about it
But i probably will
Yeah, just sitting back trying to recapture
A little of the glory of, well time slips away
And leaves you with nothing mister but
Boring stories of glory days” – the Boss

Greggory Samsa Hampshire

“Never gonna give up my rugged live, never sell my infertile soil. Never gonna give up this simple style, let’s drink and enjoy.” Real deep. “Let’s Drink” by Korpiklaani

Jorel Van Os

Expensive Tastes by the Cold War Kids

“I like to show up at your door step
Wearing the winter tie my neighbor tied,
And meet your family, compliment cookin’
Drink the beer your uncles are brewin'”

 

 
8 thoughts on “More High 5

  1. I like this style of interviewing – ask a few knowledgeable people the same question and then post the answers together.Your question about songs did elicit some good responses!

  2. I like to feel smart and call this scientific method and all that, but really I think the interviewees answers are more important than the questions. So I give them a chance to show themselves through some select questions.

  3. Your question involving song lyrics is definitely a good one. I just might have to steal it if I ever get around to building a database of interview questions.

  4. I have always believed that there are three things that can tell you quite a bit about a person without them saying a word. The first is what they read, the second what they drink, and the third is what they listen to. Although I have little musical talent I do appreciate the power that music plays in our lives.

Leave a Reply

