Megan E. Smith

Get ready for this.  Today marks the first in a series of QoNs with the group from High 5 Co-op Brewery.  They are working on something never done before in Michigan.  They are building a brewing co-op.  Sure this isn’t the first of its kind but it is the first in Michigan.  Today we spend a few minutes with Megan E. Smith.  But I am sure you are dying to know, what the …. is a Co-op.

 
 
And now the questions…
 
5 Questions of note and 1 lame one
 
1.                  What was the beer moment, when you knew you wanted to become involved with the craft beer renaissance?
I was raised on Founders beer, so there was no doubt that I would be a craft beer lover. I decided to become more involved when I heard about Hi5’s unique co-op perspective on running a brewery.
 
2.         If you could have any beer in your hand right now, what would it be?
KBS. It’s stout season. The West Michigan Homebrewers got a group together to make a KBS clone that we are barrel aging. Can’t wait to try it!
3.         Can you describe your beer life in a song lyric/title?  If so what would you choose?
Nope, can’t think of one.
4.         Do you have a steady beer, or do you like to “play the field?”
I’m a fan of dark malty beers. Just had a great Scotch Ale at White Flame. But I like to play the field as well and often do samplers at new breweries.
5.         Crowded smoky bar or back porch watching the clouds float across the sky?
 
I love beer gartens and I’m hoping we find a location for High Five that allows space for one.
And the lame one…
Who put the bomp in the bomp-sha bomp-sha bomp?
Not sure about the bomp, it was before my time. But I do get down with the bomp’s cousin, the whomp.

9 thoughts on “Megan E. Smith

  1. On that note I think I should set up a disclaimer that for many of my interviews I am using promotional material that the subject has created. They go to quite a bit of trouble to create their videos and such that I feel it would be a disservice to them if they were not showcased.

  2. Don't ask me why but when I read the title I was thinking co-op as in an apartment building, and since I know of a couple of situations where someone's beermaking caused real stress between brewer and a neighbor or landlord I thought WOW! brilliant plan, like a little community for beer people! I like this idea too, but honestly I'm a little disappointed there isn't an apartment building somewhere with a basement brewery shared by everyone.

Leave a Reply

