Pasta Alla Puttanesca

Here we go with the first video of 2013.  Its time to get back on track.  All the eating and drinking of the holidays has had its toll on us and we need to fight back, but without sacrificing flavor.

Homemade pasta is better than anything you will ever find in a store.  Thankfully we have already gone through the process here.

This leaves us with the work of making the puttanesca sauce.  The historical lore of puttanesca sauce comes from the world’s oldest profession.  It is said that this was the sauce that would be made in the houses of ill-repute because it was so simple and could be left simmering on a stove top while they performed the services of their profession.  It was also one that was cheap enough and filling enough that they could feed it to their customers without cutting too deeply into their profits.  As an additional side note the word puttanesca is a derivation of the word puttana, the italian word for whore.

This is one of my favorite styles of red sauce and I tend to make slight variations of it when I make most red sauces.  It is simple and can be made with so few ingredients, with an added bonus that it really does come across as a great sauce at a low price point.

Traditionally, puttanesca sauce consists of tomatoes, onions, black olives, capers, anchovy, and oregano.  In my version I tend to leave out the capers and anchovy, and use basil instead of oregano.  As you will find in most things, many will have their own variation and interpretation of what the sauce can be.

Puttanesca Sauce Recipe:
1.5 lbs tomatoes (I used fresh frozen tomatoes from the fall harvest)
10 olives
2 cloves garlic
1 small onion
2 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 cup wine
1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
Salt to taste
dash of red pepper (or chipotle powder)

Method:
Add olive oil to hot pan and warm.  Then add onion and garlic and cook till soft.  Deglaze with wine, then add tomato, spices, and vinegar.  Bring to a boil then add the olives.  Cook to reduce the liquid to just a bit before demi sec.  Add cooked pasta and mix through bringing up the temp of the pasta.

5 thoughts on “Pasta Alla Puttanesca

  1. Jon, I LOVE puttanesca sauce, especially with homemade pasta… Yum. I realize you left out the capers and anchovy which is my favorite part. However this does sound really good and easy to do. FYI: I have a new pasta sauce I'll be canning in the next few weeks. 🙂

  2. The etymology of puttanesca is fascinating. It's certainly a fact I won't soon forget. Yes, I think I shall attempt to make some whore-sauce for dinner! Only kidding… my husband makes the sauces.

  3. Jon,I recently began cooking more often and adding a new recipe once a week for variety. The sauce doesn't seem very difficult and I think I will give it a try in the future.Thanks,Jenn

Leave a Reply

