Brew Ware

Part of the fun of brewing your own is also making the equipment you use in your brewery.  Granted the home brewing world has grown over the past few years or so and it is fairly easy to go into a home brew shop and just buy the equipment you need.  But when you do this you are missing out an a chance to fabricate your equipment to your own specifications.  Brew Ware was printed in 1996, at a time when home brewing still wasn’t a common practice (heck it still isn’t common now, even though it has become hugely popular). 

For my personal buildouts, I tend to explore ideas in the book first before I finalize my plans.  There are quite a few ideas that are still as useful today as they were 17 years ago.  As I have been flipping through it again now, I am finding a few more tech projects that will be added to the list of items I will be working on this year. 

One of the big projects is an aeration unit.  Granted many of the home brew shops out there now have aeration set ups premade or they can order them for you.  Take the time to read the book and you will find an option that works well at a cheaper price than one you can buy.  This also adds to the satisfaction of doing your own build out. 

Not everyone is a tinkerer, but then not everyone is a home brewer either.  If we were willing to just buy everything we wouldn’t take the time to brew our own.  Sometimes its just better when you make it yourself, for that very reason.

Time for a pint…

10 thoughts on “Brew Ware

  1. My father used to brew his own beer many years ago. My mom was not all that happy about it but my brothers and I were all for it because we (of drinking age) got to share in the results. This looks like a book my father would have enjoyed reading. πŸ™‚

  2. Looks like this will be the perfect kind of book for someone who wants to brew their own beer but doesn't really know how to go about it. I think it will be beneficial to a lot of different people and will work out for you. I know that if I ever want to start brewing my own beer I would need a lot of advice from people who know what they're talking about.

  3. I'm sure many people wander into these brew shops and get completely confused – it's good that you're providing them with a guide that will help them get what they need! These days it must be possible to do a LOT of the work yourself instead of buying pricey equipment! Good luck with this project.

  4. The world could definitely do with a few more tinkerers. For some reason, you post reminded me of an instance when Jamie Oliver asked elementary kids to identify where common foods came from. Many of them were stumped to realized that fries came from potatoes and that milk came from cows. There's a lot to be said for hands on experience in a world where being able to buy everything seems to run the risk of making people more detached everyday experiences…

  5. It still amazes me when children (even adults) don't know where the foods they eat come from. The people that think steaks come from the super market kinda scare me a little…

  6. In the beginning stages of homebrewing, the only way to get equipment was to build it yourself. It is becoming easier now to find enterprising individuals who have begun to market equipment. This is all well and good, except it cuts out part of the fun of the whole process.

  7. The greatest part of learning anything new, the web has sped up the dispersal of information so that now there are a large number of places to find the information you need. The homebrewing world is huge online and a great community that accepts everyone.

Leave a Reply

