Moving Forward

And now we come to the last post for the year 2012.  The past few days I have been playing within a certain theme.  The post from Wednsday dealth with reflection, or finding what has brought us to where we are now.  On Thursday we cleaned up our anchors, physical and metaphysical, the stuff in our lives we hold onto when we really should just let it go and move on.  And so, now we are better prepared emotionally and physically to move into our future. 

I have never been one to write out resolutions.  They have always seemed to me to be something that is a bench mark for how disappointed you will be with yourself in the coming year.  I am sure you know what I mean.  Usually about 5 minutes after you make your New Year’s resolutions you have forgotten them if you even made it that long.  Instead I will spend a few minutes talking about some things that will be going on this year, maybe even give a few details of what may be transpiring. 

Within the next few months contest season will be starting again.  It is getting to be time for me to start figuring out the brews I will be competing with this year.  As an added piece of the pie, I plan to spend time at a few contests helping out as either a judge or at least stewarding.  At the same time I plan to begin work on BJCP certification, I have been putting it off for far too long.  Working hand in hand with that, I will also be moving toward Cicerone certification. 

As if this alone wasn’t enough I have started work on a couple of the books I hope to put out this year.  Granted none of the books I am currently working on are beer books but they are projects that I have need to do for my own sake.  I will not go into full details right now, but rest assured I will be updating info about them as they get closer to fruition. 

In light of the writing work I do here as well as my other projects I am now learning some new software.  I have been doing quite a bit of writing using Evernote.  As a lover of the old physical notebooks, I find Evernote fits quite well into the way I write.  And then there is Scrivener.  I found this one yesterday, it seemed like an almost perfect happenstance.  If you haven’t looked into either of these yet, take some time and check ’em out.  The more I find through working with these two, the more I wonder how I got along without them. 

As you start to think about what you want to accomplish within the coming year, the important thing to realize is you need to get started.  You will never reach your destination if you never get moving.  The best part about putting yourself out there, when you least expect it you will find the help you need.  Be open to change and most of all… START!

Time for a pint…

12 thoughts on “Moving Forward

  1. WOW, you have quit the slate of things to accomplish my friend. I wish you all the best with your certifications and book projects. I have heard of Evernote but not Scrivener. I will check both out. I agree, starting something can lead a person to some amazing experiences. Happy New Year. đŸ™‚

  2. Of course, my resolution is to get off the computer and go for a walk. I'm not very good at this one.I started using EverNote recently. I can see why a writer would like Scrivener.

  3. I've gotten the trial version of Scrivener thinking that learning it would get me going towards overcoming procratination-itis that I've been experiencing for quite a while since I kicked off my blog early last year. I find the ideas in Scrivener intriguing but I have to say, there is a learning curve and right now I'm behind the curve.

  4. I've had intentions to look into Scrivener and Evernote for months now… still haven't put that plan into action, but your post just reminded me I still need to do that.

  5. I have tried Evernote and just could not get in to it. Scrivener on the other hand is wonderful. I do not have it all figured out yet, but I have high hopes that it will save me a lot of time later.

  6. Wow, you're going to be kicking it this year! I use Microsoft OneNote but when we travel I'm moving to a Mac so I'll have to try Evernote. Good luck with everything!

  7. I have been pro pc for pretty much ever. I do most of my work on a Dell currently. The best part of Evernote is its ability to work across platforms. My wife and I have been leaning toward the darkside lately and are considering Ipads for mobile work. This works out for the apps I have been working with lately (I love that I can use them on my pc and they will port to whatever tablet we end up going with).

  8. If you love to use tons of notebooks, Evernote will feel natural to you. Scrivener is an extension of all that. Basically it allows you to organize all those notebooks into coherent thought.

Leave a Reply

