Cleaning up

You may just notice there is a running theme this week.  I don’t know about you but I am getting ready for the new year.  Yesterday was a look into the past to find what lead to where I am now.  Tonight we will spend a time cleaning out some of what might be holding us back. 

After we took down most of our Christmas decorations yesterday (we really don’t linger too long after the holiday), we did a bit more cleaning.  One of the major areas we hit were our family games.  We spent a good few hours digging through and removing redundencies and unplayed games.  You know the ones I am talking about here.  Those games where you have 10 different versions (like extra playing cards, or the 3 different boxes of Uno cards we found in our pile).  Of course the games you just don’t play anymore and most likely never will again are another important area to clean out. 

The big move for me was cleaning out a portion of my work storage space (my modest office area).  During Christmas my office corner of the living room is devoted to the Christmas tree.  This means moving my main book shelf as well as any storage spaces, to a different area in the house.  In the process of moving it back I took the time to go through and clean the shelves of all the unneeded miscellaneous papers, old magazines and even catalogues that are several years old (ya I don’t clean stuff as often as I should in the office).  Although it frightens me I still need to go through my paper shelves and get rid of all the old papers and junk that no longer have bearing on life and of course store the important stuff in better areas. 

A big part of this clean up was going through my fairly large collection of cook books.  Again something I should have done a long time ago.  I try to retain cookbooks that have more than just recipes.  I want to know the histories and stories of what is presented in these recipes.  This is far more important in my eyes than a simple recipe.  I can easily go online and find a recipe for anything.  It is the stories that make our history important.  Food and drink is the cornerstone of culture, if behooves us to know the whys involved with what people ate and drank. 

I suppose at this point you are wishing I would just get to the point.  I can do that, I swear it is within my power to quit leading you through endless babble in my head (but that isn’t always as fun for me).  Sorry…

Really the point here is the New Year is a chance to move ahead.  It is a new beginning.  It can be extremely difficult to move on when you are carrying the extra baggage that used to clutter your life.  As you turn to thoughts of what your next year can be, maybe it is time to lose somethings of your past.  Of course you have to keep pushing forward, but remember to let go of that anchor that is holding you down.  There are no laws saying that you have to bring it with you. 

Time for a pint…

8 thoughts on “Cleaning up

  1. I like the way you think, Jon. I, too, like to know the history behind some food or libation, or some other interesting info about it. I intend to do that in my chocolate book in order to differentiate myself from all the chocolate bloggers out there who just review chocolate. I find that boring. I like to know about the person making the chocolate, where they live/work, what has influenced them, etc. Good luck in moving forward in the New Year.

  2. I can relate to what you are doing. I have been doing a lot of that myself recently. I have a move coming up in 2013 that I am also getting ready for. There have been many trips to Goodwill with stuff that had outlived its usefulness. There are still trips left to make, but progress is being made. Happy New Year to you! May it be a good one for both of us.

  3. Ahh yes, I too have a pile of stuff ready to be taken to Goodwill this Saturday afternoon. I absolutely love getting rid of stuff, in both the literal and the figurative sense 😉

  4. One of the main reasons I really don't do beer reviews is for similar reasons. There are so many out there already doing reviews, I would simply be lost in the shuffle. Granted there are a few people that I like their reviews so I visit them on a regular basis, but I would rather give a view outside the simple review so those coming into the food and beverage world from the outside can have a bigger view of what is going on.

  5. We try to live a bit on the minimalist side (thought it doesn't always happen). It feels good to get extraneous stuff out of your life. I do not envy you the process of moving. But I will happily celebrate the finished move with you. I know you don't drink but when the time comes let me know and I will gladly have a toast in your honor.

  6. I have learned to take a bit of joy in it. Though, it isn't always easy. Being raised by parents who grew up during the depression it has been ingrained that you save what you can because you may need it later. Harder to give up is the figurative baggage. I think that may be something we all struggle with at times. Wouldn't it be great if we could take all that baggage to the Goodwill and deposit it for someone else to find use for.Breaking these habits from time to time can be very liberating.

  7. Ah, cooks books… you should see our collection. I can honestly say my husband would be hard pressed to get rid of any of them. He really does look at them and use them. So they will stay. I too love the stories behind certain foods and wines. It gives the making and eating or drinking of the end product or wine have much more meaning and interest. Now on to my cleaning up the garage… UGH!

Leave a Reply

