Lew Bryson

The interview this week is with someone who is practically a landmark in the beer world.  For starters, Lew Bryson has been writing about beer since 1995.  Add to that, since 1996 he has been the managing editor of Whisky Advocate.  He has four books to his name and three blogs (Seen Through a Glass, The Session Beer Project, and Why the PLCB Should be Abolished). He has been the main drive for Session Beer Day.  And then the pilot for his show American Beer Blogger won an Emmy in Pennsylvania.  These are just a few of the highlights.  Check out his bio, its been a great journey so far. 

This is the shortened version of the pilot episode to American Beer Blogger (a little warm up before we get to the interview).  

And now before I delay too much longer…

1.         What was the beer moment, when you knew you wanted to become involved with the craft beer renaissance?

There was the first non-mainstream beer, in 1981, when I knew I wanted to drink more of these different beers. There was the moment in 1986 when I bought Papazian’s Complete Joy, when I thought I wanted to brew beer (and I did, but hell, it was too much work!). But I knew I wanted to be involved the night of my first ever brewpub visit in 1987 — Front Street Pub in Santa Cruz — when after my first beer I pulled out a notebook and started writing. I never stopped.

 

2.         If you could have any beer in your hand right now, what would it be?

Augustiner Edelstoff; for choice, in the brewery’s Munich beer garden, under a chestnut tree.

 

3.         Can you describe your beer life in a song lyric/title?  If so what would you choose?

Crosby, Stills and Nash: “Love the One You’re With”

 

4.         Do you have a steady beer, or do you like to “play the field?”

Inveterate and unashamed field player. Though if I find a beer I really like at a brewpub or beer bar, I often stick with it for the session…and the next day I’m on the prowl again.

 

5.         Crowded smoky bar or back porch watching the clouds float across the sky?

How about the back porch of a bar, watching clouds float across the sky with a bunch of other folks? I like to talk when I drink, but I like to do it without shouting.

 

And the lame one…

 

Who put the bomp in the bomp-sha bomp-sha bomp?

I believe that was Old Man Monkeydick.
8 thoughts on “Lew Bryson

  1. Great Interview. I've connected with some Craft Beer bloggers recently, even had one put together some great beer ideas for November events on my blog here: November Craft BeerI'm definitely getting an education here, glad to see both craft beer and writing and talking about craft beer is taking off so much in the mainstream.

Leave a Reply

