Bonnie Steinman

This week’s Questions of Note is with one of my favorite hop farmers.  Jeff and Bonnie Steinman own Hop Head Farms in Hickory Corners Michigan.  It seems only fitting that Bonnie is featured this week, she tends to be the more vocal of the two.  Aside from the fact that the are building a great hop facility in South West Michigan, they are both just great people to talk to and get to know.  Before I get to wrapped up and all gooey I better move this along. 

So we now turn to the questions:

o    1. What was the beer moment, when you knew you wanted to become involved with the craft beer renaissance?
that is hard. I remember having my first Bell’s Best Brown at The Corner Bar many moons ago, but at that time i did not know there would be a craft beer renaissance. I have had many beer moments, but I think the most inspirational and affirming ones have been during Michigan Summer Beer Fests. The community of brewers is amazing in Michigan. Every year we go, we make more friends and connections.
2. If you could have any beer in your hand right now, what would it be? I would just like A BEER in my hand right now! Right now I am thinking about harvest ales, of course. They are different every year, so I can’t pick one brand over another. I need to try them all!
3. Can you describe your beer life in a song lyric/title? If so what would you choose? I love beer so much. All I can think of that could describe my beer life is Louie Armstrong’s “What A Wonderful World.” Beer makes me happy. That song makes me happy too.
4. Do you have a steady beer, or do you like to “play the field?”If in doubt, I will always have either a Bell Two Hearted or a Founders Red’s Rye. If those are not available I’ll get Sierra Nevada Pale.

5. Crowded smoky bar or back porch watching the clouds float across the sky?
I definitely prefer the air and view of the back porch. I can’t stand smoke. It messes up my taste buds and gives me a headache. I do love people watching at the bar though…
And the lame one…

If tin whistles are made of tin, what do they make fog horns out of?
Something really big. They are loud!!!!

Time for a pint…
Leave a Reply

