Stan Hieronymus

There are a few books that are must haves when you think about your own personal home brew library.  For me, I go back to these books on a regular basis, looking for information that might have slipped from my feeble memories. 

 
Stan Hieronymus maintains the Appelation Beer site, aside from just writing a couple books (and working on more, and this doesn’t even bring up the magazine articles).  Though he claims that he is simply a journalist, it is through his work that quite a few people have learned the art of brewing and built upon their skills to become better brewers. 
 
 
And so this brings us to our questions again this week.  So I will delay no longer…
 
5 Questions of note and 1 lame one
 
1.         What was the beer moment, when you knew you wanted to become involved with the craft beer renaissance?
 
I’m not sure about the word “involved.” I’m a journalist and I write about beer. I collect stories, and there are a lot of great stories to be found.
 
2.         If you could have any beer in your hand right now, what would it be?
 
A fresh glass of circa 1980 Sierra Nevada Pale Ale. Because that would mean I was a hell of a lot younger than I am now.
 
3.         Can you describe your beer life in a song lyric/title?  If so what would you choose?
 
“The Road Goes On Forever (and the Party Never Ends).” It’s on my business card.
 
4.         Do you have a steady beer, or do you like to “play the field?”
 
I have beers I drink over and over, but I can drink only local beers and go a long time without repeating one if I want. When we go out for dinner I am not going to order something new just because it is different, but may because it looks interesting.
 
5.         Crowded smoky bar or back porch watching the clouds float across the sky?
 
Like the beer I choose at any moment that’s awfully situational. Maybe we’re traveling and want to catch a sporting event on TV – that’s not cloud time. In the broadest sense, and at the risk of generalization, I would say an outdoor setting can make a beer better, while a beer can make a crowded (forget the smoky part) bar better. But so can conversation.
 
And the lame one…
 
If tin whistles are made of tin, what do they make fog horns out of?
 
Are those Reinheitsgebot fog horns Extreme fog horns?
 
 
Time for a pint…

Leave a Reply

