Geneology

In my family, we have known for a long time that we were one of the founding families of Schenectady, New York (though at the time it was New Amsterdam).  You see, my mother’s family name ,Bradt, stems from the Bratts that traveled to America from Norway via Holland.  When we look at where we are now, we no longer have ties to this other than history.  Much of the family (as in my mother and her siblings) are now in Michigan with their children scattered to other areas of the country. 

One of my sisters has been doing research for her web designs classes.  Due to my involvement with beer and brewing she has used me as a basis for a bit of her research.  During this research she also uncovered an interesting tidbit about the family in their original settlement. 

Arent Andriese Bratt was one of the original proprietors of Schenectady in 1662.  Now this is the part that we are only now discovering.  It turns out that the Bratts of this time period were brewers.  Not only did they have their farmland as part of their allotment for being first settlers but they also had the brewhouse on their land. 

I am thinking the brewery went the way of many of the breweries of the time (lost to obscurity).  But I am starting to search for info that might lead me to some glimmers of what they might have done.  It would be interesting to find out if they actually did production work that went outside of the family and such.  If on the odd chance I can find some info for some of the brews done at their brewery, I might be able to recreate a brew or two. 

With that said, I think its time for a pint…

One thought on “Geneology

Leave a Reply

