Preppin for brew day(Cascadian Dark)

I have begun to see this recipe to be even more complex than the dunkelweizen recipe I brew.  A bunch of little steps and a vast amount of different malts.  This doesn’t even get into the hopping schedule. 

So as I write this I have the sugar working on the stove bubbling away.  Soon that will be the candy sugar that will go into this beer.  The main grains are ground and ready to go for dough when I kick off tomorrow.  And earlier tonight I started the cold steep for the dark grains that will give the beer its dark color.  I got the yeast starter together and going yesterday.

Check out the sugar, bubbling away…

Time for a pint…

Leave a Reply

