What’s in your glass

I have seen a few times recently where some have been irate (in writing) about beertinis or beer cocktails.  This baffles me.  I mean seriously, did someone place one of these concoctions in your hand and force you to drink it?

When you really think about it, there are brewers already doing similar things but instead of mixing them after the fact they are mixing them prefermentation or during the fermentation process.  Short’s PB and J beer comes to mind.  And that isn’t even the wildest brew that Short’s has made.  Not even to mention anything that Dogfish has brewed. 

If you have read this blog for any length of time you probably have a general idea of what it is that I prefer in my glass.  More often than not it ends up being beers that taste like beers.  There are random exceptions (Southern Tier’s Pumking is amazing) but for the most part I like to think of myself as a traditionalist.   I find that there are so many flavor possibilities simply following the precept of malt, hops, water, and yeast that you can make an unlimited number of beers.  But then I also find that their are times when you add in something just a little bit different and you make something you never thought of before. 

I dare say if you are not open to new possibilities, how do you learn and grow and change?  If we didn’t have those who are willing to experiment we might still be drinking the same beer as everyone else.  Just imagine, we could go back to fighting about whether it “tastes great” or its “less filling.”

As for me, I’m getting a pint…

Leave a Reply

