Brewday this week (preliminary)

I originally was planning on a black IPA.  But in light of a couple announcements earlier today I am going to switch this over to a bitters.  My plan is to have a bitters brewed and ready for Session Beer Day, April 7th.  Granted I will be playing around with the recipe floating in my head a bit more but my current plan is a golden bitter with both Challenger and EK Goldings hops. 

I have always liked the idea of a session beer; something with lower ABV so you can happily drink a few and still be ok.  I am a firm believer that it is the flavor and not the booze that draws me to beer.  To that end I have brewed a number of beers with lower ABV.  It wasn’t that long ago that I had a 3.5% Kolsch on tap. 

I think I may even name this beer Bitter Tears Repeal Beer.  April 7th was chosen for Session day because that was the day that 4% ABV beer became legal to brew before the repeal of the 18th Ammendment. 

Enough of this … I need a pint

Leave a Reply

