Getting ready…

I picked up some supplies earlier today.  The plan is to brew Rum Rebellion on Saturday.  This is an ESB that is aged on Capt. Morgan infused oak chips (gives it the feel of aging in a rum barrel).  I will be making a few changes to the original recipe.  The biggest change will be within the hops.  I am still using East Kent Goldings as the bittering but I will be using Saaz for aroma and flavor instead of Fuggles.  As always I am living within a science lab and I have new experiments to play with all the time. 

I will be bottling the cider (finally) this weekend.  As always just not enough hours in the day to get everything done.  At the same time I also plan to move the bock to secondary.  The long wait will begin soon.  I plan to lager this one till May.  Can’t wait to get a sample of the Bock considering it will be just chilling for a few more months. 

On that note I am about to do a quick sample of the cider.  I imagine it will still be super tart but I can live with that.  I am hoping that the oak comes out.  It seems that I have been playing with oak quite a bit lately. 

Well, enough of this for now.  Time to do some sampling…

Leave a Reply

