brewing/writing…

I made a self realization recently. Brewing can be compared to writing (if you look deep enough you can come up with your own analogy). When I am making big beers, meads, and ciders, I am brewing novels. They take a while to finish and require care and patience. Small beers are like short stories and novellas. They don’t require as much of a time commitment to bring them to completion.

I believe it was Hart Johnson who took this analogy a bit further recently. She went so far as to compare different beer styles to different story themes. You can tell quite a bit about a brewer by what they brew and how they brew it.

There is a story in every pint. What does it tell you?

Speaking of pints … I think I’ll find one

Leave a Reply

