How was your day?

I am brewing what could turn into a Belgian Strong ale as we speak (or I am at least pretending like I know what I am doing).  The candi sugar I made for this brew had a taste that around my house we are referring to burnt marshmallow (you know, like when you sit around the camp fire and your marshmallow catches on fire … that’s the taste).  This has the potential to be a really cool beer. 

Of course, at one point, while doing the multi rest infusion I splashed the boil kettle a bit too much and burned my arm with boiling hot water.  Yay, brewing is a contact sport with possibility of bodily damage…  Luckily, I am used to burns.  We keep a bottle of burn cream in the fridge for just such emergencies. 

Belgian Strong recipe

10 lbs Vienna Malt

5 lbs Pilsner Malt

1.5 lbs dark candi sugar

1 oz Mt hood hops 5.5 aa 60 min

1 oz Styrian Goldings 3.5 aa 20 min

1 oz Styrian Goldings 3.5 aa 5 min

I used a multi step infusion  as follows:

10 min at 110 degrees

30 min at 148 degrees

50 min at 155 degrees

I make my own candi sugar for the Belgian style beers.  Pretty simple to do as long as you have a candy thermometer.  Put the amount of sugar you will need in a pot and just cover with water.  Cook on medium heat, brushing down the sides of the pan with a pastry brush and water.  Do not stir or the sugar will crystalize.  Basically you just let it go till it hits the temp you want.  When it hits temp you pour it out onto a foil lined sheet pan.  On brew day break up the chunks and work them into your boil.  The flavor this brings to the beer is amazing.  Way better than anything you can buy. 

And now, its time for a pint…

Leave a Reply

