Slacking, as usual

Yep, I still haven’t kegged the Kolsch.  I should be getting that done in the next couple of days.  I did manage to bottle a case each of the Belgian double and the Dirty Rotten Scoundrel. 

I will say that the double is growing on me but I can see some changes I want to play around with on it.  The first and foremost will be to caramelize the sugar to a darker color.  I sampled Brewery Vivant’s Abbey Ale (in a can no less) recently.  I can see a number of similarities between theirs and my double but at the same time they had a darker beer with some flavor notes to go along with the richer color.  Makes me want to play around and see what I can come up with. 

My store of agave nectar is growing.  Tequila Sunset isn’t on the brew docket for a bit yet, but I have been considering a mead based on agave and honey.  This could be an interesting combo.  I also realized recently that I am getting closer to bottle time for the current mead.  I should pick up a corker soonish.  This just means yet another thing the brewery needs. 

 

Time for a pint…

Leave a Reply

