Readings…

I just finished reading the book “Yeast: The Practical Guide to Beer Fermentation.” If you are anything like me, this is the book you have been waiting for. For the past year I have been pouring through vastly huge books about the science of brewing. But in the end not a single one of them broke down fermentation in a way that anyone could understand it. At the same time, not a single one of those books actually looked at the everyday view of fermentation and how yeast affect the entire process. I mean they are great when you want to know the entire chemical process but most of us don’t have our masters or doctorate in chemistry.

It may seem a small victory, but to actually understand the effect that flocculation has on your finished beer was enough to make the purchase of the book worthwhile. I don’t know about anyone else but even though I made it a point to watch over every aspect of my brewing process, I realized that there was more I could do on the cold side of the process to ensure a successful batch of great beer. I think that may be one of the defining things that separates the good from the great. Of course, cleanliness and sanitation are in there as well, but anyone who is making really good beer already have a decent handle on that aspect.

Pick up the book and grab a pint … Its well worth the read.

Leave a Reply

