The session series continues

Tonight I brewed an ordinary bitter. It should finish out around 3 to 3.5% when all is said and done. I was planning on going with an ESB but when I took stock of the ingredients I have on hand I realized I could do the bitter with out having to pick up too much. And when I look at the ABVs of the last few beers I have brewed I realized I was following a pattern of session style beers. The bitter looks to have the lowest amount of alcohol of any beer I have brewed to this day.

When I picture this beer in the grand scheme of things I also realize it is something I have been wanting to do for quite some time (althought in a slightly different way). I have had plans of doing an English style mild for months but other beers kept taking precedence over the mild. This bitter kinda fills the shoes of the mild I just haven’t had the chance to finish up.

I tried a few new things with this batch. The first was a slightly different sparge method. Instead of a batch sparge I attempted a real sparge. I did end up with a slightly better efficiency. I think it will be enough to get a full % extra in my abv.

The other thing I did was to use a single hop. Granted I did all my normal additions but instead of multiple hop varieties I only used one. This go around I used Fuggle. Granted Fuggle is one of my go to hops for Brittish styles, but I am anxious to see how it finishes out. I want to know if there is an affect on the overall flavor.

The recipe for this beer is as follows;

6lbs 2 Row Pale malt
2lbs Marris Otter malt
1lb Biscuit malt
1oz Fuggle (60 mins)
.5oz Fuggle (30 mins)
.5oz Fuggle (20 mins)
1oz Fuggle (5 mins)

1tsp Irish Moss (20 mins)

Mashed at 150degrees for 90 mins
water to grain ratio of 1.22 or roughly 2 gallons 3 quarts mash water

And now as soon as I finish this pint, its time for bed…

Leave a Reply

