Just in time for Christmas Morning: Scones

Here it is, I don’t do too much concerning the holidays. Just not something I do really. Sure we have our own family traditions but I don’t always think to put them up here for the world to see. Sometimes I do some things that surprise me.

Well, when it comes to Christmas morning, we like to have stuff like cinnamon rolls for breakfast. Usually something we can throw in the oven while we open presents. Considering we tend to be up around 6am (I know right… craziness), it can’t be anything that requires too much thought.

IMG_2611

The best bet is to either pick up something really good from a local bakery. I prefer fresh made croissant from one of the bakeries near my house. It is Christmas morning so it should be something special anyway. This year I will be making some croissant at home and some scones. I will have to take some time and show the method for croissants soon, but for now we can look at the scones.

I know, I didn’t do a video. But these are so easy to make, you honestly can’t go too far wrong with them.

IMG_2608

Ingredients:
3 cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup sugar
6 tablespoons room temp unsalted butter
1 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup yogurt (I used vanilla)
1 egg lightly beaten
3/4 cup dried cranberries

IMG_2609

Method:
Mix the sugar and the flour then using a fork or a dough mixer, mix butter into the dough till it appears like rough meal. Add the baking soda and powder and mix again. Finally add the yogurt, egg, and cranberries and mix till it comes together.

Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and knead only till it comes together. Once kneaded, roll out the dough to roughly 3/4 to 1 inch thickness. Using a bench knife you can cut the dough in triangles or use a biscuit cutter and cut out disks.

IMG_2610

I turned the excess two more times to make sure I used as much of the dough as possible. As long as you don’t work it too much they will still be light and flaky.

place on a baking sheet and cook at 400 degrees for 10 to 15 minutes. You want the bottoms to brown and the tops to come out slightly browned.

I cooked mine for about 12 minutes and they went a bit further than I normally like. But the insides came out perfect. Even with the richer color the flavors were still great. You don’t have to use cranberries. You can use just about any fruit or nut you want for the scones. In the past I have used blueberries.

Time for a pint…

8 thoughts on “Just in time for Christmas Morning: Scones

Leave a Reply

