Roast Turkey

You may remember recently I had issues with my stand up freezer. During the rescue of all the food in that freezer I had a turkey that I needed to finish thawing and cook because it wouldn’t fit in any of my other freezers. Life can be rough when you run out of space.

So today I threw that bad boy in the oven. I subscribe to a different few of what works when you cook a turkey. I don’t bother with marinades or rubs or injecting. All this is a bit superfluous in my view. Granted a nice rub could add some extra flavor with the method I use, but that’s and extra step I just don’t want to deal with. I aim for the simple when I roast a turkey. 20131007-223028.jpg

Instead of worrying about hours per pound or anything that requires higher end math (yep lazy) I turn the oven low. When I roast a turkey I do it over a period of about 7 to 12 hours at 250 degrees. I can hear you, and I know what you’re thinking. “The turkey is gonna dry out. It won’t cook right. blah blah blah”

Ya know what happens when you cook a turkey low and slow like that? It cooks like a brisket or pulled pork. You end up with meat that falls off the bone and its succulent and good (yep I said succulent). Seriously, I am afraid to pull it out of the roasting pan because it is going to fall apart when I try to move it.

When you do this it is a good idea to baste it every now and then. The white meat doesn’t have the fat content of the dark meat. But that is a minor inconvenience really. You still end up with crispy skin and more than enough juice for sauce. Heck I have enough rendered fat now that I am thinking I might make some chicken wing confite. But that will be something for another time.

Anyway, we didn’t go to too much trouble for dinner other than the slow cooked turkey. I ended up cheating a little and had some box stuffing and canned corn with it (I know I am ashamed of me too). But the thing is, for a few days now we will be having open face turkey sammichs and such. Just wait, Thanksgiving is right around the corner so next month it will be time for even more of the same.

Time for a pint…

6 thoughts on “Roast Turkey

Leave a Reply

