Sausage and Kraut

I must be on a kick lately but considering we are in the fall and it is Oktoberfest time, it seems appropriate to showcase foods that fit in with the theme. (Imagine I don’t get into this kick for Thanksgiving or Christmas)

This video was one of my earliest ever made. But the ideas presented are still great for life and for the season. Making traditional sauerkraut is so good you just can’t pass this up.

Natural Sauerkraut

Now the reason we bring this up, how can we celebrate a Bavarian beer holiday without kraut and sausage. This is the way I have had it pretty much all my life. It is one of my comfort foods and also something I am happy to say my kids have grown to love as well.

There really isn’t a recipe for this. But I will say I use about a pound of my natural kraut with a few polish sausages. Of course add in some julienne onion to balance the flavors and you have a great meal. Boiled potatoes complete this meal. We tend to crush them on our plate with salt, pepper, and butter. It really is that simple.

Time for a pint…

IMG_2285

Kraut, sausage, and boiled potatoes

6 thoughts on “Sausage and Kraut

Leave a Reply

