When the Walls Come Tumbling Down

20130619-233100.jpgI have been writing this blog, for what feels like forever. Sure it is new to WordPress, but it spent the majority of its life on Blogger. See, me and Blogger we go way back. Probably over 500 posts back. That’s quite a bit of writing. Granted the first few years were little to nothing, just the ramblings of someone who hadn’t figured out what he was doing yet.

This blog started out as a place where I could write about the beers I was working on in my brewery. That is where the name comes from, 10th Day Brewing. You see, this is the name of the brewery in my home. If you have spent any time here you might have guessed that already. If you have spent any time here, I apologize for any of the posts from when I started all this. (I probably should clean them up and remove what is no longer relevant).

This space has evolved over the past few years. What started as something small has grown and blossomed into something much more than that. At one point I even had to split the blog, that is how much it had grown. This was the time when my blog Misadventures in Strange Places came about. A portion of what I was talking about just didn’t fit here but I still needed a place to share that side of me.

Does it seem sombre in here tonight? Should we have a beer or two? I digress…

I have been in some inner turmoil of late. 10th Day has been having some growing pains. I didn’t realize this at first. I love this place. For me it is like coming to my favorite pub. I like to kick my shoes off and find and easy chair.

What does this have to do with growing pains? Quite a bit really. It was a little over a year ago now when I switched gears with what I was doing here. At that time I hit it and hit it hard. I made an active effort to build this brand into something bigger than my original vision.

Something happens with children. Despite your best efforts to control how they grow up, they do their own thing despite you. That is exactly what she did. She grew up and I didn’t realize it. 10th Day is now something I never suspected.

The vision I had a little over a year ago was to chronicle living a beer lifestyle. Funny thing is, I have no idea what that even means. Is it something like traveling from beer fest to beer fest chasing down the next great brew? As fun as that sounds it seems a bit too much like being a Dead Head, something I have no desire to ever be.

So earlier today I was having a good moment doing drudgery work. This stuff is great if you just want to lose yourself to your thoughts. I spent an hour or so cleaning and processing around 14 lbs of rhubarb. I needed it all to be sliced and such so I can just pull a pack from the freezer when I want to use it for something.

This toil gave me the freedom to do some deep thinking of what it was that was bothering me. I realized that this place represents something more than just beer. Don’t get me wrong beer is an important aspect of what the place is about. But it’s like going to a brewery with a great tasting room. Sure you are there for the beer but if they have a kitchen they should have some great food as well.

So how does all this tie together? And that is when I realized what it all means. 10th Day Brewing is really about living a local lifestyle. Finding the things that make life worth living within your own space. For me this means local brews (made at home, you can’t get more local than that) and foods from local farms, even growing your own. It is about supporting your local breweries and artisans, bringing back a culture of community.

We seem to have forgotten what it means to be part of a community. We eat processed, homogenized foods, drink beers with no life, or drink sodas and sports drinks filled with so many chemicals. Our youth are growing up with no idea where our food even comes from. It is like we are ashamed of the work that goes into our food supply.

My goal is to help to spread the word; to help turn these views around. This hasn’t changed. It is something I have been working to achieve for some time now. I just didn’t realize it till now.

When these thoughts came to me it was like a veil had lifted from in front of my eyes. I saw the world in a new light. There is new vision for what we are trying to achieve here. Of course the new vision is the same as the old one. But now we know what it is…

In the future you can look forward to much of what is already happening here but also maybe a bit more. This is an exploration of the things that make life worth living, a study of the culture that makes us who we are. Join me as we move forward into a new day.

Time for a pint…

6 thoughts on “When the Walls Come Tumbling Down

  1. Great post, Jon! I just read an article that processed food not only increases the risk of obesity and cancer, but it’s linked to depression, multiple sclerosis, eczema and asthma. It is sad that much of what today’s society eats is processed food and microwaved. My husband and I have really moved away from many processed foods and we see and feel a difference.

    I’m looking forward to reading more here. By the way, my husband has a great recipe for rhubarb that we use to put into our yogurt.

  2. I love the direction you want to take the blog in. You’re so knowledgeable when it comes to food and spirits, plus you add a real writer’s touch to how you tend to shape your posts. Part of the run of blogging for me is refining the approach that makes the most sense for both blogger and audience. I think I’m 80% happy with my author blog. I would so like to start a second blog related to food and travel, but at the rate I write, that’s a ways in the future. I would also like to do a blog on blogging geared towards authors… so many ideas and how to implement?

    One of my friends back in Idaho posted an article last night on Facebook about 10 food-related concerns that are legal in the U. S. and illegal in many other countries, like using arsenic to make chicken meat more attractive (http://www.buzzfeed.com/ashleyperez/8-foods-we-eat-in-the-us-that-are-banned-in-other-countries). We don’t think enough about where our food comes from. There’s a total disconnect at times. I remember watching a clip of Jamie Oliver going into a grade school classroom and showing kids pictures of things like fries and milk. Many of the kids here hard-pressed to match a fry to a picture of a potato.

    Netflix is a wonderland of food documentaries. I watch them from time to time and get all riled up.

    • Our heavily processed foods have done a disservice to both our physical and mental health. Imagine the children who think meat comes from the supermarket so farm animals won’t be harmed.

Leave a Reply

