Chicken with Mushroom and Mead Sauce

Simple dishes with just a few ingredients can be a beautiful thing. You don’t need to have a bunch of ingredients with complex processes to have elegant food. Enter this simple chicken dish.

 

Ingredients:
Chicken Breast
4 mushrooms, sliced
1 medium onion julienned
1 clove garlic chopped fine
1 cup Mead (or wine of choice)
2 cups chicken stock

Method:
Sear the chicken allowing it to develop a crust and leave some fond in the pan. Move chicken to oven proof dish. Sauté onion adding the mushrooms and garlic after a couple minutes. Allow mushroom to get wilty (that’s a word I swear). Pour onions and mushroom mixture over chicken. Deglaze the pan with the mead ensuring to scrape the fond in the bottom of the pan. Add the chicken stock and bring to a boil. You can allow the sauce to reduce a bit at this point or you can add it to the chicken.

When you add the sauce to the chicken cover the pan bake in a 350 degree oven for about 45 minutes. If the sauce is too liquidy you can thicken it on the stove top with a corn starch slurry.

Serve it with potatoes or rice and a veg of choice. A summer salad or fresh garden veggies are a good idea. You can also finish off the bottle of mead when this is ready (if you haven’t started on it already).

Time for a pint…

10 thoughts on “Chicken with Mushroom and Mead Sauce

  1. Always looking for a sauce for chicken :) You wok has lasted 15 years? We’ve had terrible luck finding a good one.

    • I can’t even say that this is a good wok. It’s cheap and thin metal. But for some reason it has lasted a long time. I use it more than I do some of my other pans which I have had a long time too.

      The handle fell off a couple years ago. But then with kitchen hands I can grab the sides of the wok most times with no issue. I should say the life of this wok can be attributed more to luck than anything else.

      • My most recent wok (which just got thrown away as a sacrifice to the moving gods) was one of the new “green” nonstick ones. It was complete and utter crap. I guess I’ll stick with Teflon and risk poisoning myself ;)

      • There are good woks that are meant to last and all that. But they come at a hefty price. I figure the one I have is still working so I will continue to use it till I melt a hole in the bottom of it.

    • Thats a big thing, we tend to make it harder than it has to be. Most of the time it is just a few ingredients with a simple cooking method that can make a difference between simply food or a great meal to enjoy with friends and family.

Leave a Reply

